Fishing gear

PLAYING WITH A REAL CAMERA

Thanks again to my wonderful friend Derek who last night loaned me his Olympus E-510 to see if a DSLR and I would get on together. I flicked through the manual last night when I got home (ended up pretty confused, but at least knew afterwards what the various buttons and dials do). I'd been hoping for some decent weather today, but it turned out mostly dull and there were one or two showers added to the mix as well. There's now ay I was going to stay indoors just because of that, though. Not when this mega toy was close at hand.

So off I went about 2.15 to Howth to spend some time around the fishing harbour and so on. It's very different, of course, holding the camera up to my eye and using the viewfinder (and it's this aspect which the borrowing is all about). My left eye is protesting a bit after all the squinting, but the results were pretty impressive when I transferred the 100 or so shots when I got back. There was no contest, really, when it came to picking today's blip. Other possibilities were well behind this as far as I'm concerned. I've picked a handful of the best of the rest and uploaded a gallery.

Time now to get ready to go out later on for a celebratory meal to mark the fact that the web site's gone live that I've been working on. Not content with paying half as much again as the agreed fee, Bernard the client insisted on treating those involved to a meal. Cruzzo's in Malahide is where we're off to. A review will follow later.

Big gear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.