Ingunn in Oslo

By IngunnInOslo

COMMUNICATION PROBLEMS - GEOMETRICAL # 2

I'm tired today and there has been little time for blipping. Anyhow I think my shot illustrate how I find communication difficult when one cant speak the same language.

Slowly I'm getting more and more information about Irena and Maria, the two girls that live on the street in Oslo.

Irena was very depressed today. She had another slessless night and has lost hope of a better life. She struggled to keep her tears back and asked how my day had been to show me that I was equal important as her.

I held her in my arms and this is was I think I understood from her story. Her father is Hungarian colonel (or another grade in the Military) and her mother is from Romania. Her father left them when she was 5 years old, and she never seen him after that day.

Her mother has been in Norway and begging in the streets. When Irena lost her job and was broke in Budapest, her mother told her to travel to Oslo to find work and that she will get a room. So she took the plane to Oslo just to find out that her mother set her up. The work was begging in the street for the romanian mafia, and the room was with 25 others under the spell of the mafia. She has been in Oslo in 5 months and don't know how to get back to Budapest. I tried to find out what nationality she has, but she didin't understand. I asked if she would contact the embassy and that I will bring the address to her tomorrow. I guess I will bring both the hungarian and the romanian embassy address and see what she pick. Irena got some hope the embassy can help her. When we sat there some people put money in her cup. I wonder if it helps that I sit with her since then they understand that the money doesn't go to the romanian mafia, but to her. She had over 130 crones and gave me a smile

Maria saw me, ran towards me and kissed me. She was happy. She had clean clothes and had bought take away food. She had not been working as a statue. I gave back her cellphone that I have charges the batteries on. We sat down with Irena and Maria let me listen to her music. They both laugh when I danced with my arms to it. She also showed me photos on her cellphone taken before she ran away from home. 5 months on the street has been hard on her! I also saw pictures of her sister Magdalena and her beautiful mother.

This is was I think I understood of Marias story. She has contact with her older sister on internet. Her mother is a good mother, but has had 3 abusive husbands/men and Maria was very scared and run away. Now she has asked if she can come home, and the mum has said yes, but that she cant send her money.

I didn't want to stay long time today with the girls. They had enough food and they had money. My instinct told me that I had to look after myself and focus on the little task like find out if the have embassy in Oslo. I wanted to go to an art gallery I never have been in. In the same street was the City Mission. I went in and stayed there a long time trying to find help for the girl. The lady there invited me to her seminar "Is it possible to be an unlegal human beeing?" she is frustrated that girls like Maria and Irena that is unlegal in Norway doesn't get help here. She didn't think their embassy will help them. She gave me some telephone numbers I can continue my fight to get the girls away from the street and back to their home countries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.