"to notice"

By mnaylor

L'eglise de Les Carazils

So yesterday on a walk that took me around LaFage I wandered up a road that went along a ridge with a great view back to LaFage, and surely a lure for today's adventure - I could see in the distance towards in the opposite direction as LaFage an edifice of a church. I took off this morning along the same ridge, passed fields of sunflowers nodding their yellow heads towards me in the morning breeze, and found the road to the village and church. I am always self-conscious wandering in villages, but somehow finding churches makes it okay - this one is abandoned as are so many it seems. From reading French history I have learned that many churches were built as the Church was exercising its control over the region, and often on sites that had been in use for more mystical forms of worship. Whatever the forces are, I am drawn over and over to these delightfully shaped old stone buildings, no matter what country I am in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.