Waiting on the slipway

I was all geared up for a good old session with Derek's Olympus, but after a restless night I didn't finally wake until 11.30, and it was going on for 1.30 by the time I got out of the house. An email from Derek advised me that it might be worth going back to Farmleigh, since a brass band was scheduled to play between 2.00 and 4.00. That sounded like a good plan, so off I went. A match in Croke Park made the journey longer than it might have been, but I got there just as the band began to play. There weren't many people there, really, and those that were (some on Friday's chairs) didn't seem to have much time for the music. Also, I'd only got about thirty shots taken when the battery warning showed up. Stupidly, I'd come out with just the camera, so the spare battery and I were separated. Nothing in the can was blip-worthy when it found its way onto my iMac (rejects below).

After a bit of a break at home, during which the weather got better and better, I went out again, hoping for something better and possibly blip-worthy in Malahide. I felt I got better results with the Olympus at this time of the day when the light was less harsh and the shadows were longer. In fact, I really enjoyed myself, and even had a bit of a natter with the guy whose anchor this was. "Are you taking my anchor?", he asked, and we got talking. I told him about having the Olympus on loan and playing with it, and he said he was into photography too and that he had a full-frame camera which he knew was an extravagance but which he liked a lot. Not long after that encounter I bumped into an ex-collaborator from my Irish Life days. Brian was one of the printers I used regularly towards the end of my IL tenure and for my own work for a while afterwards. The last time I'd met him was when he and I both took to the streets to protest against George W Bush when he came here. It was only when I uploaded the Malahide photos that I realised I'd earlier taken a shot of him and his family. (Brian is the guy with the stripy top and the sun glasses. It had been his missus's dress which had caught my eye).

Farmleigh rejects:

Setting up
Family group
DOF test
Lost

Malahide rejects:

Old boat reflected
Slipway preparation
Sea-break

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.