Still life with bowl

I'm sure Derek's poor camera isn't used to being pointed at stuff like this, but there are three reasons for offering this as today's blip: (1) it was dull, grey, and occasionally damp all day, so far from the sort of weather to entice anyone out; (2) any camera I'd test would need to be used for emergency blips around the house, since fill-ins are often needed; and (3) today was a very domesticated day anyway.

Carl goes away on business tomorrow morning for two weeks (to Tulsa, Oklahoma). His flight's at 10.30-ish, with checkin three hours before that, so it makes sense for him to stay over in my place tonight and go to the airport from here. Having such an important guest means, of course, that lots of cleaning and tidying has to be done, and that's what most of the day went on. I regularly tell people that my basic reason for hosting the Music Group once a month is that this forces me to do a bit of cleaning and tidying in readiness for the invasion. I'll have to get Carl to stay over more regularly too, since I pulled out all the stops today in areas other than get attention when a music session is scheduled.

I contacted him early evening, having heard that rain was forecast, and offered to go over to his place to pick him up, rather than have him lug his luggage down to the DART. I was over southside at 8.30 and helped the traveller with final preparations. It was going on for 11.30 by the time we got to my place, and then we did some online research and sent off a couple of enquiries for accommodation in Lyon for the start of our upcoming holiday.

An exhausting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.