Notes on Commuting Creatures...

I'm not often moved enough to intervene in volatile situations but yesterday I encountered possibly the brassiest, most ignorant individual I have ever come across in my history of bus commuting.

I was last on a very packed bus leaving Edinburgh. A lot of people had to stand but the front two seats were occupied by my subject. He was sitting in the outer seat with a portable DVD player which he was watching, hanging in the window seat.

I tapped him on the arm because the guy in front of me was elderly and thought it only decent he at least move over to give him a seat. He actually started kicking up a bit of a fuss.

I was flabberghasted. I'm still struggling to work out how he could justify his logic. He was muttering something about timetables screwing him over but the crux of his animosity was that he thought people should have to ask him to move. He made it very uncomfortable for the elderly man who did take the inside seat.

He continued to labour his point inspite of both of us pointing out how ignorant he was being to the point where he was raising his voice and swearing enough for someone else to shout down to stop because there were children on board.

I just could not believe it and he has even jumped above Stinky Tramp I was sat next to last week as the most memorable commuting creature I've come across. How the hootenany does a civilised society still manage to spit out specimens like this? Interesting and baffling.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Notes on the Picture...
This is Mr Mark Burrows nailing a frontside ollie, fakie nose grind.
Burrows is a big man, he skates big and drives a BIG truck.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Notes on meeting new people...
I had the pleasure of meeting our friend from across the water today for a wee mosque lunch. Not at all as I imagined him but a lovely fella nonetheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.