an image of teamdel

By teamdel

So many numbers, so many possibilities

Well today has been a funny day, after picking up my daughter from nursery we popped to the shops.

We only needed a few things from the supermarket. As we entered it my two year old started requesting to see the girl. I could not see a girl anywhere and so had no idea what she was talking about, we started looking around the shop with no girl in sight and my little girl got more and more frustrated and upset as I could not find her.

In the end I gave up and discussed it with daughter and we decided the girl must have left so we said "bye bye girl", then went about the shopping. Then as we turned the top corner of the supermarket my daughter pointed and shouted "There is the girl".

I looked and there was a leaflet display stand with a picture of a little girl on it. Clearly she had seen this picture on a previous visit and remembered it even though neither my wife or I ever recall seeing it there. For a two year old she constantly amazes me.

Well we picked up a leaflet so she could take a picture of the girl home to show Mum / Wife then took our items to the till. It was all scanned through and put my debit card in the machine and then stood there in horror.

Now I use this debit card at least once every day so I was amazed at what was happening. So there I was standing there, with a queue building, staring at this bloomin' machine with absolutley no recollection of my pin number. None at all.

My mind was, and still is, a total blank to the number that I have used thousands of times before. I had a couple of attempts and failed and so had to pull out another card that I have not used the pin for for about ten years and remembered that one straight off the bat. I then left the shop feeling like a plum and have been trying to remember the four numbers ever since with no luck.

It appears that at some point in the last twenty four hour the part of my brain that held those four digits has died with no hope of being resurrected. I have since had to ask the bank to resend me the number.

Well at least I get to see which one of my guesses will be correct when the number eventually turns up, and it should cut down on my spending a little.

Oh and another bonus to come out of this is that the box of 50 drawing pins contained 54, and I have used some. As you can imagine I am feeling pretty smug now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.