end95?

After a week or so of increasingly twitchy screen performance requiring increasingly inconvenient amounts of tweaking to the position of the slider to get the screen to operate and culminating in intermittent screen visiblity only when the slider was in the position which revealed the multimedia control keys but obscured the keypad and only then when it was pushed one way and pressed down in another.

I fished out crappyphonecam and the slightly-better-but-only-just 6230i but both their batteries are in Lincolnshire, acting as spares for the handset my mother still uses and which she has with her. As I happened to originally say, I do still have the 6310i and it is that which is currently functioning as a device with which to make voice calls and send and receive text messages. It also does email, but only pretend message-centre-text email and doesn't hook up to POP3. There's also Nicky's old Sony Ericsson somethingorother somewhere in a drawer, which was twitchy and shite but should at least have limited email capability and possibly a very limited (but suitable for blip) non-XHTML proto-browser but which is cheaper and slightly more advanced than buying a new battery for crappyphonecam or its younger brother. Something will have to suffice for the few days it'll take for a replacement ribbon cable to be delivered from wherever the one I've just ordered comes from in order to see if the phone can be repaired for a fifth of the cost of upgrading to something considerably slicker but not perhaps quite necessary just yet. Besides the small financial outlay required I'm very used to and very happy with a hardware T9 keypad for typing and am not at all sure that I'd be able to adapt to a miniature software QWERTY touchscreen which don't seem to be very good at permitting sensible thumb-typing. On a QWERTY half the characters are dealt with by my left hand so using a single finger is much more time-consuming, and as I lack protruding fingernails there's still an accuracy issue. Rather than an upgrade being something I want to find an excuse to perform I'd really quite like it if I could delay it for a little while, and not just because I'm quite pleased that my 33-month-old handset still does (or did, though I could still use it in the house if I fish out the TV-out cable and use the telly as an external display) everything I need it to despite not being full of smoothly-animated touchscreeniness and sliding menus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.