Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Through the "Looking" glass

The view through the glass...butter cream donuts...the ones I did NOT eat today. OK, I ate one yesterday...but today I looked and did not eat. I ate, instead, a bagel. An 'everything' bagel with seeds and garlic, freshly made and as good as any I have gotten in the deli's of New York City. The Bayside Bakery in North Bend, OR, treats me to a feast of choices almost daily.

Sometimes I choose just the coffee...sometimes a sandwich with a friend, or a bread bowl with soup. Today, they talked me into trying the most recent experiment... a tang donut (yes, AFTER the bagel). Half in a bag...to give to a friend, and half consumed to share my opinion of this bright and festive treat. I do like orange!

I pondered how much has changed. The desire to BE a 'weight watcher' and not just go to Weight Watchers. To hold as my identity, "one who watches her weight" instead of seeing it as something outside of me that I go to. It affects me, my thinking every day. The expectations that I used to have that a small portion would not satisfy...so it didn't. But today, I can live in peace with a bakery, enjoy the tastes, but "be" something different than I was.

Liberty....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.