Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Temperance Institute

The Wonderspouse was working in Manchester, which he does occasionally, and I went along for the ride! Well, actually I drove, since he doesn't have a driving licence owing to no driving examiner having yet recognized his, er, abilities behind the wheel!

I'd accompanied him on a trip up north in February, when I was extremely low and ill. This summer trip could not have been more different.

Having established that a couple of friends in the area were unavailable for meeting up, I set off to amuse myself. First I went over to Southport to do some "seasidey" activities. Last time I was there I felt so terrible that I cried the whole time and nearly threw myself off the end of the pier. This time I enjoyed a tray of chips and an ice cream for lunch and did a good amount of walking, browsing the shops, and staring out at the large expanse of beach that eventually leads to the sea! I was alone, yes, but I was not lonely as I had been before - I was well enough to enjoy a day out by myself again, something I've not been up to for a while.

I also took numerous photos of seaside shelters, the pier, a bridge, and the marina area, metal bars etc. but in the end, as I was walking back to the car park, I spotted this building (no longer the Temperance Institute) and was unable to resist. My great grannie used to drink "to Temperance" and it always made us chuckle!

I continued my day with a trip to IKEA (the very first time I'd been), where I bought assorted cushions, towels, fabric, cuddly toys etc etc. and then met up with the Wonderspouse at the Manchester hotel, where we had Chinese takeaway for supper and I opened a bottle of wine! Very appropriate for a day on which I blipped the Temperance Institute!!! ;-)

Incidentally, that evening I felt happy. The contrast with the trip in February, when the tears flowed down my face from Norton Canes services northwards could not have been more marked. I thought then that there was nothing to live for. I felt depressed, rejected and hopeless. It's been a long 6 months and a lot of hard work, but I have discovered how to live again. Not the life I would have wanted, but one I can handle and, even better, enjoy.

To anyone reading this in the throes of the worst parts of depression and mental illness, hang in there - things can improve, and you may just find a way to enjoy life again.

I never thought I'd say that in February!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.