Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Village Church

As we were driving back into the village yesterday, I remarked to the Wonderspouse that I really should walk out to the main road and blip the village Church from there sometime. He told me I always said that.

So, today, feeling tired and hungry mid-afternoon, and trying to distract myself from eating extra food, I set off, fully intending to blip the outside of the Church. However, I then thought it might actually be nice to blip the inside instead, so turned up the hill and went in to take a few pictures.

The Church isn't a place we go very much - since we're not religious, it would be rather odd to show up for services, and we don't really have any other use for it, except as a pretty bit of the village. I took several pictures of various bits and pieces, but thought I'd give you a general overview - I'll pop back sometime and do some more detailed shots when the mood takes me.

Going in to our little village Church (which always seems to be open) reminds me of doing the same thing at a small Church in the country with a group of my inner-London kids (about half my tutor group) when I was teaching. They were astounded that it was open, and then even more astounded when I told them they didn't need to take off their shoes when we went inside. They asked all sorts of questions like "Is this your Mosque Miss?" and were fascinated since none of them had ever been in a Church before.

Although I have shed all religion these days, I was briefly religious and Churches certainly aren't unfamiliar to me. I still rather like them, their architecture, and their history. It was certainly quiet inside - the only sound (apart from my camera making its little noises) was the ticking of the clock on the Church tower. I was TERRIBLY tempted (a) to have a go on the organ and (b) to pull the rope and ring the bell, but thought that might attract too much attention!

So, what of the rest of the day?

50 lengths this morning. I swam at a more leisurely pace than earlier in the week, gently stretching my back, which noticed that it had been sitting in a car for 6 hours yesterday. I am pleased to report, however, that I have swum a total of more than two-and-a-half miles this week!

I cleaned the kitchen sink, descaled the draining board, and did laundry.

I watched some OU videos for my maths course. And fell asleep!

I made some more notes for my maths course. And didn't fall asleep!

I washed Moses's tent. Charlie slept in the hammock.

And now it is mid-afternoon (still), and I'm feeling sufficiently tired that I may have a nap, and bathe, then return to my desk a bit later on. The Wonderspouse is out at a poetry thing so will be home later than usual.

I'm definitely not as efficient as I was earlier in the week. Just shows how efficiency declines with tiredness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.