Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Swimming Leopard

Yesterday morning, you may recall, I went for a walk. One of the things I passed on my walk was a sign which read "The Lido Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool".

I rather fancied a swim, and, after living withing spitting distance of The Lido for 8 years, I finally walked up there and picked up a leaflet with opening hours and information on!

Then, last night, I unearthed my swimming bag and rootled through the contents. Money in the side pocket, towel, mat for feet, prescription goggles, swimming costume...

Ooops! This was the rather sporty swimming costume I bought when I was somewhat slimmer than I am now - not a CHANCE!

So, a bit more unearthing later, I found my large swimming costume - which, as you can see, is decorated in a discreet and "not drawing attention to myself at all, honest" leopard print. I also have a matching bikini - I'm not shy!

And this morning, after dropping the Wonderspouse at the bus stop, I headed up to the Lido for an open air dip.

It was WONDERFUL! The outside was a bit freezing - the bit where I took a shower, then stepped into the wind was a tad cooler than it could have been, but I'm actually quite a bold swimmer, and the pool was LOVELY!

Swimming outside is one of my favourite things - and I quite happily take my clothes off and get into the water whenever I'm near the sea, or a pool or any other suitable water. When I was teaching and we took the kids away for several days, I was the one teacher who could be relied upon to supervise the kids in the outdoor pool whenever required. I have a yearning to go wild swimming if I ever get fit enough. Love it!

So, this morning, I did 32 lengths, which I think is about half a mile!

Great way to start the day! I shall do it again SOON!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.