Red Admiral

This butterfly, a red admiral, was flitting around our patio this morning when Bob was preparing to paint the eaves on the back of our house. I was in the house, but heard him holler, "Come here, Skip, hurry up and bring your camera." There really wasn't any need to hurry, because it didn't leave the area, and I had plenty of opportunities to blip it. I still haven't located the butterfly books I misplaced, but I found this beauty on this website . Because it seemed interested in the little puddles of water that had pooled on Bob's painting tarp, I got a plastic lid and a glass of water and tried to encourage it to take a drink, but didn't have any luck with that. Maybe I'll try again if I see it tomorrow.

EDIT FOR BLIPPERS WHO ARE INTERESTED IN BUTTERFLY ID:

I think maybe the butterfly I blipped at the Arboretum on Sunday and couldn't identify is a pearl crescent. Take a look at this page and see if you agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.