Hummingbird moth...at long last!

This strange looking critter, nectaring (Yes, that's what it's called when they sip nectar) on the butterfly bush, is the hummingbird moth I have been trying for so long to blip. The previous pictures I've captured of this moth have been less than successful because the shutter speed was too slow. Today I set the camera in shutter mode instead of aperture mode, and I set it at 1/1000 and above, and I am much more pleased with the results I got. Next time though I will set the shutter a tad slower because the images were a little too dark. Live and learn, I guess.

I only wandered around the butterfly garden for about an hour. It was just plain too hot to stay any longer. I hope the butterflies hang around for a while yet, so I can do some more experimenting with the settings before they head south or go into hibernation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.