Low budget electioneering

Local body elections are coming up. I hope this guy/woman is elected. They should be elected for their style, injection of colour and individuality alone.

In New Zealand we're oh so good at electing ex-radio hosts, TV personalities and failed national level politicians to local politics with large chips on their shoulders, on the basis their name is recognisable. My logic of electing them for their style isn't any better but it couldn't be much worse.

An old Datsun (these days Nissan) car, striking yellow and black stripes, your name in big letters and a 'catchy' bi-line. It's memorable and people will remember it. A good lesson on achieving a profile on a low budget.

I have a colleague with the same surname and I'll be checking out if there's any link tomorrow ;-)

Just like a year ago I'm trying to make my peace with the presence of a large industrial strength dehumidifier in my lounge. Upstairs is a fan that makes a noise like a 747 about to take off. I can turn the fan off but not the dehumidifier (it takes 8 hours of continuous use to get it to the point it's doing it's job). There is some concern over the ceiling and if the dampness will dry out. Fingers crossed it does.

Mum looked good today and the docs say she's stable and starting to progress from her surgery and the latest setbacks. This is all good news. Everything is a balance, celebrating the good things in the present moment and holding the many uncertainties we don't yet know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.