LightFran

By lightfran

Nyon Castle

My hotel in Nyon is immediately behind, and below, this beautiful fairytale castle. I took this photo from about ten yards away from the hotel entrance.

Now for a brief history lesson: The castle was built by Louis I of Savoy at the end of the 13th century. It was altered greatly between the 16th and 19th centuries and renovated in the early 21st century. Since 1888 it has housed a historical museum and has an impressive collection of locally made porcelaine from the 18th to 20th centuries.

History lesson over!

I got this shot, just in time. I paused for, literally seconds, to adjust the ISO to accommodate the fading light, and when I brought my camera back up to my eye, the light reflecting off the white walls in this shot, had gone completely.

Tomorrow night, my last night in town, I am going to walk up to the castle to take some funky shots with the wide angle lens my husband has lent me, and to simply enjoy the view 'from up there' of Lake Geneva.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.