Fragile but intact

I've realised today just how the earthquake is affecting me. I'm quite stressed and realise I've had a few stressful things going on for a while.

On the good side, the things I've found a closer inspection around home are all fixable. I've lodged a claim with the Earthquake Commission.

I spoke to Mum this afternoon. That was wonderful for us both. She slowly progresses and sadly realises she and Dad will miss a second Granddaughter's wedding in mid-October in Australia.

I also had phone calls from my brother, sister and other friends. They make a difference.

I have offers from friends for a bed to sleep in. I'm not yet ready to sleep upstairs. My situation is compounded by the existing insurance claim from the leak in my shower. The ceiling downstairs and floor upstairs remain quite wet. Now I have two fans in the house along with dehumidifier. So sleeping here isn't an option.

Stressful yes, but I'll get through it. Tonight I'm back to my friends around the corner. I'm grateful for that and did get some sleep last night.

There have just been a couple of significant aftershocks so I'll prepare to leave for the night. Thank you for your thoughts, prayers and comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.