The new normal

I've had a few new normals of late. The aftermath of the earthquake being the latest.

Where I live there isn't a lot to see. Houses are largely intact. What you do see are tarpaulins on house roofs where chimneys used to be.

These guys are starting the process of removing a broken chimney and didn't mind their photo being taken. The home owners are fortunate to have a tin roof rather than tile or slate. Many fallen chimneys have gone straight through.

Last night everyone found it hard and terrifying. We had a lot of seismic activity with large aftershocks of 5.4 and 5.1. In themselves they are significant shakes.

I remain sleeping at my friends with the heavy duty fans and dehumidifier drying out my ceiling and floor. We've had a bit of respite from aftershocks today but we know they're not over yet. It would be nice if they could stay away during the hours of darkness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.