Spring continues....

... despite the devastation.

It's been a tough day with a particularly nasty, shallow 5.1 shock just before 8AM. It was located in a different spot, this time not far from underneath me. It was like the house was lifted up and dropped, just short and incredibly sharp. Lots more stuff was thrown around at home than in the main quake on Saturday. Only my bedside lamp is broken, and a few more cracks in the bathroom (they're the just the wall linings where walls meet, not structural).

I've taken pictures down and anything else likely to fall and break or sustain damage. I was still at my friends around the corner when it hit and it took a while before I could face going home. The Fur Child was terrified. Poor little guy, I imagine the noise was awful what with the machines drying the place out too.

I realise I need to be with friends and that's what I'm doing. I feel blessed and grateful for this. The Fur Child is now in luxury Cat Hotel accommodation. It wasn't too hard leaving him there (despite the cries) as I know he'll be warm, safe and will quickly settle.

Nothing earthquake related in my shot today, instead a beautiful tulip that reminds me spring and life goes on.

Mum is making progess. The complication they're treating is healing. It's likely to be another 2 weeks before she can have any food. I know she's finding that hard. Today she stopped the heavy duty antibiotics, so she's winning that one too.

Great to have some good news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.