Embra

Today was our annual get-away-without-the-kids day. Oh Yeah.

As soon as they were packed grumpily off to school we jumped on a busy train and headed on in to the Capital to be touristy types for the day. We took a leisurely walk down the High Street to Holyrood and then wound our way back up into Princes Street discovering wee nooks and crannies that are tucked away between the main streets.

After a gut-busting burger in the Hard Rock Café (don't tell the kids, we told them we grabbed a steak-bake from Greggs) we took a stroll around the Impressionist Gardens exhibition down at the National Gallery. I'm not doubting the pedigree of the artworks on display in here but there were just a bit too many flowers for my liking. I'm not really big on flowers.

Suitably full of the culture we headed back to Waverley to catch our train back home. Despite taking loads of other pictures round the town this last picture I took reminded me of blipfoto's rule No.7 - be excellent to each other. Not sure everyone wandering the street was in that frame of mind though.

Kids, we love you to bits, but sometimes it's nice for me and your maw to have a bit of time to ourselves. It's to your benefit in the long term, trust me. xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.