Upside down

Some people's lives have been turned upside down.

Some people have lost pretty much everything.

Most of us are still spooked by the almost constant wobbles we feel (5.something twice last night/early morning).

This morning I headed into town for the first time since Saturday. The clean up has begun. Beautiful buildings toppled, lest the next aftershock should do it for them atop unsuspecting passers by.

Army guys, most of whom looked younger than me, standing guard on the worst hit streets. My beautiful Christchurch looking like a warzone.

And yet ...

Shoppers shopping.

Coffee drinkers drinking coffee.

Me - my long needed massage.

Then I went to Tania's funeral this afternoon. So sad. 42 years old and three weeks off being married for a year. My thoughts and prayers go to her loving husband, Mark. May she rest in peace. Chemotherapy after breast cancer stopped her heart. She will be sorely missed.

For the rest of us, life goes on. Even for those who have lost their homes and their livelihoods, their lives go on.

Some fear that they will never feel safe again. Some, realising that their homes have withstood a major earthquake feel as if they could survive anything.

And me, cautiously optimistic, I'd say.

School is closed until Monday.

I've been needing some 'study time' for my uni degree. I'd rather it was under more positive circumstances but that is what I must now settle down to doing.

Tomorrow morning I have to go to work to sort a few things and then coffee and cake with Mo.

Off to bed now.

Thank you for the crown and for all your kind comments.

I have passed them on to those who have really suffered (more than tiredness and jumpiness).

Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.