Dragonfly

This morning I had my semi-annual appointment to get my teeth cleaned and checked. Since the dentist's office is on the way to the Arboretum, I packed a picnic lunch, took my camera, and spent some time in the Butterfly Garden after my appointment was over.

There were still quite a few butterflies and moths hanging around, much to my delight. It was a hot, sunny day, and the butterflies, moths, and dragonflies like that kind of weather, even if I don't. This part of Ohio is supposed to have a temperate climate, but it hasn't been exactly temperate this summer. Today was the 19th day of temperatures of 90 degrees or above since the beginning of summer. Normally we may get seven or eight days of heat like that. That's one of the reasons we like living here, but this summer has been the fourth hottest since they began keeping records. I wonder what the winter will bring?

Out of all the pictures I blipped today, I decided to share this dragonfly with you. Isn't it a beauty? Sorry, I don't know the species, but I've never blipped a red one before, and it was really cooperative. When I took the photography workshop last month, I learned that dragonflies are territorial. They flit around, but they don't go far, and they will often return and light on the same flower if you wait. This one did, so BLIP!

It's time for bed now. Thankfully the temperature has dropped 12 or 15 degrees, and the rest of the week is supposed to be cooler. I'm looking forward to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.