Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Yesteryears

It seemed, at the time, as if lunch boxes would never change. They would always be metal, with a wire clip inside to hold the little thermos. They would always have a handle that was held in place by two collapsible wire pieces, and there would be a big square latch that you could snap closed...the pictures would always reflect a cartoon that made you smile to look at it. Mine was Flipper. My sisters, I think, was red plaid. She must have liked red plaid. I always liked hers as much as I liked mine, just because it reminded me of her.

The giant scrap book that I have carried since Elementary School and Jr. High, holds so many such memories. Those little slips of paper with a gold star, notes from friends, articles from the school newspaper, ticket stubs from plays we attended, the wrapper from a "Sweetheart" Straw...the days of innocence.

To get this photo, I climbed up on a swivel office chair and stood up there with my arms raised above my head and elbow braced on the side of the door to reduce my wiggling. I just had to get this shot tonight. It's been a week of memory lane and I just love my Flipper Lunch Box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.