The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Gaslight

A day that took me back to last winter - the joy of sitting playing about on the laptop, 'organising' photos and documents, making cups of tea, streaming music over the speakers, and ranting away to myself at times in the manner of a orator from the House of Commons in the 1950s. Oh what fun.
Later, real life intruded. I donned my smoking jacket and stepped out in my brogues crisply along the pavement to head down town and meet one of my acolytes. After a glass or two of Chinon, we shared a fine rabbit stew and then took a stroll, arm in arm, round the edge of the New Town before settling down on the horsehair sofa in front of a roaring fire to enjoy a dram.
And then I woke up in the Diggers. Jeesus. Again! Rab the barman's leery face! Maitland and his observations on the Scotland team. Steve and his sly stories about ageing and forgetfulness. Tom and his second cousin on his mother's side. Time for home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.