Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Alma Mater

I remember how afraid I was to enter the 9th grade in this giant institution on the hill. A few things have changed, like the color of the buildings, the removal of one building and addition of another, but it was large enough that I heard a few people refer to it as "the prison on the hill".
I loved my school, never had trouble getting my exercise walking to classes, either. MHS, Marshfield High School, home of the Pirates. My introduction was a letter instructing me to show up before school started to learn the ropes for marching band. I played flute, and remember feeling so very much a part of something so much bigger than myself. I loved the uniform, it was so very official. Amazing how they could get them to fit all of us. This time of year, fall is in the air, football teams are practicing in the fields, all the memories come back. Big billowy clouds everywhere today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.