Rick Curran

By rickcurran

Black Creek Pioneer Village

Today we went to visit Black Creek Pioneer Village which is a live working example of the type of village you would have found in south central Ontario between the 1790s and 1860s.

It was interesting to see the way of life people led, it reminded me a bit of Little House on the Prairie if you've ever watched that or read the books. There were buildings with various jobs that people would do such as tinsmith, cooper (pictured above), miller and the one I found most interesting was the printer. They had several old printing presses and the printer would demonstrate laying out galleys of type and then running them through the press, it was really great to see.

You can read more about it all at http://blackcreek.ca and I've also posted a photoset over on my Flickr account too.

In regard to the photo above, I've been enjoying using the new HDR feature of the new iOS 4.1 release for the iPhone, it makes a big difference to the exposure range on images from it and I'm pretty pleased with the resulting images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.