Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

100

100 blips! Whew I made it. The journey has begun ... with a few bumps already ;-)

As Joe has often said, Blip is not a competition, the original idea was a daily journal. For people with a competitive nature however, and that is me, there is a temptation to strive for more attractive images that gain the popularity of others. This route of course leads to disappointment, as it is impossible to shoot a 5/5 image every day. It's taken me a while to figure that out and it did lead to disillusionment.

So what is blip to me now and why am I still here? Firstly, Blip for me is less about a daily journal, and more about a journey for my photography. It's about making the time to use my camera and then taking the time to "see the light". To be honest I have only been partially successful; in many cases choosing an easy landscape that is more visually appealing, rather than learning.

After my blip break my perspective changed and I started to realise why I am here. I also read a great book called "How to shoot stock photos that sell". A key point this book makes is that we all have our interest or speciality; we may not realise it. Rather than trying to be jack of all trades, master of none, try to understand what makes your images unique and then explore that further. There are lots of other gems, such as shooting concepts, rather than images - or of course a mixture of both.

Anyway enough of that, here are Blips top 5 and my top 5 - we have a different perspective ;-)

Blip
* Christchurch - 337/27
* 50 - 269/36
* Sprinklers - 247/39
* Man and his Dog - 243/22
* Mist - (?/26)

Mine
* Christchurch - 337/27
* Mt Cook - 216/28
* High as a Kite - 119/10
* Sunrise, Sculpture, Moon - 184/11
* Rescue - 201/16

It's been a great journey and I am looking forward to the next stage. I might make some changes, with the goal of further learning and beign more experimental - but still daily. Thanks for all your great comments and support for the past 100! Blip is a great community and a credit to Joes vision and hard work.

Thank you all!

BTW, this is an assignment photo, it's a different viewpoint on my photography, the clothes line, the article etc - they are all upside down. Ok, breaking the law here ... but read the article I cut out here on Blip ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.