My Angle

By myangle

As close as it gets

1/80th sec, f11, 400ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 18mm, Canon 350D

Well I got the close up, underneath train photo I wanted today and scared the crap out of myself doing it.

I followed the line and found a very low underpass. On inspection I discovered that it was low enough that if I wanted to I could reach out and put my hand on the tracks. I am glad I didn't. Trains have an amazing way of sneaking up on you. I missed the first one heading inbound and didn't realise that the outbound one was at the station not 50 metres away. When it came towards me I had to make a mad dash under the bridge to capture this, looking up through the tracks as the train passed just a foot and an half away from me. Scary but fun, and definitely another assignment photo.

Other train blips:
a pinhole sky explodes out
michielh
scintilla

*******************************************************************

Today is another sultry, hot one. I spent the morning doing more bank things. It is amazing how many direct debits one can accumulate. They all had to be changed. Hopefully they are all sorted.

When I got to work today, I could feel the tension in the air. The prepress supervisor has spent a large portion of the day setting up spine marks for sections of jobs. The sales manager wants them in colour and the supervisor wants to work on a numerical system. I started to make a suggestion and got my head bitten off.
OK, I can handle that.
I think they are all trying too hard though. My idea is to use a felt tip marker on the plates to identify the sections. A line on the cyan late of section 1, a line on the magenta plate of section 2, etc, etc. It doesn't involve technology; it's just common sense. So I am a little amused at how much time and effort is going into this when there is a simple solution. For the many non-printing types on the blip who have no idea what I am on about, indulge me on this one. It needed to get it off my chest.

There, I feel better now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.