Sign of the times

Well that's a relief! (apologies to any body builders out there, unimpressed with my sense of humour).

My colleague and I spotted this on the outside of the student association building today. My phone wasn't able to include the poster above advertising the 'Scottish Variety' concert (which incidentally isn't canceled).

I'm doing ok. I have a plan for returning home and coming to terms with my memories and experience of the earthquake. I accept that until the machines drying out the pre-quake shower leak damage are gone, the process of reconnecting with home is slowed. It is entirely impractical to try and coexist with the noise and disruption they cause.

Each day I spend a bit of time at home after work. Today I hung a few things back on my bedroom walls upstairs. A few things I didn't want to put back up and instead I stood them against the wall (rather than protecting them under my pillows and duvet). It felt good to do this.

My internal sense is to put things back up (where I feel comfortable) and then to start and clean my home. The latter has been delayed by the drying process and actual earthquake. That's my sense of what I need to do and I feel good about having a plan. It works for my friends my staying with too and I'm hugely grateful and appreciative of their love and hospitality. I have a solid base to come and go from.

I'm enjoying and appreciating being back at work. While in one sense it is far from normal, in another sense it feels normal with routine and familiar people and office space. One of our two lifts was closed today. Apparently something isn't quite right following one of the aftershocks. It just reinforces I'm happier with the stairs at present.

Today a sharp jolt hit while I was in a staff forum in a lecture theatre. It wasn't a great experience more because it was a new and unknown environment. For a couple of hours I felt anxious and hyper alert, but I accept that's normal and eventually it reduces. The other significant tremor I missed completely. S and I were out of the building (getting today's blip amongst a couple of other errands we did) and missed it completely. (Not that I'm sad about that).

Mum has begun to have a little food and drink re-introduced. This is great news. It will take a bit of time and they're watching closely to see how healed the complication of nearly 3 weeks ago is.

Time as always is a great healer.

Thank you for stopping to look and comment. I'm conscious my commenting is spartan. As I'm able to I'll return the favour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.