Reassuring

I took photos of the scaffolding guys working on the outside of the Central Library building, but as I headed towards home I saw the daffodils in all their glory in Hagley Park. There will be plenty more opportunities to blip work men fixing things post-quake. Daffodils in glorious sun are best enjoyed while you can. These daffodils in Hagley Park struck me as reassuring. They've continued to bloom despite the earths upheaval.

I noted at work my stress levels are high and not far beneath the surface. It doesn't take much and in the scheme of things I've had less to contend with than many. I'm glad I did stop to enjoy and photography these. Normal is going to take time to return to Canterbury but there are reminders.

My home is close to completing the drying process. Yay! Hopefully on Friday when they return to run their little NZ$4,000 meter across my ceiling and floor, they'll be able to take the heavy and noisy machines away.

Today's check nearly 1.5hours longer than planned. While frustrating it gave me the opportunity to sort a few things and put more things back where they belong. Small but significant steps to reclaiming home as my own.

On Friday I'll hopefully be able to start cleaning the house. All going well Barking is going to give me a hand on Saturday to get things ship-shape. What a kind and thoughtful offer.

I'm still to face sleeping upstairs at home but I'm sure that will fall into place as I get past the drying process and into cleaning and restoring things to where they should be. When I compare how I felt a week ago to how I am now I'm amazed and reassured to find my resilience is quietly reasserting itself.

It's always best to take things a day at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.