sleepgaps

Several years ago I took a call from a colleague in the morning asking to pass a message on to our manager that she would be late into the office as her dog had fallen ill overnight and that she was taking it to the vet as soon as it opened. I duly passed this on by saying that she had gone to see a man about a dog, aware that it was a phrase but not that my manager at the time perceived it as implying something distinctly unsavoury rather than merely innocently euphemistically. There are probably still a few phrases of that kind around that I'm not aware of simply through never reading them and not talking to people enough to hear them, though I am aware that "she's gone to stay with her mother/sister for a few days" could be taken the wrong way, though Nicky has indeed taken Edgar to visit her parents for a few days, though it is definitely just until Friday, was not caused by any untoward happenings at this end and was entirely pre-planned. Bloody euphemisms; I have an associate who may one day require to go and speak to a captain but will be unable to convince anyone of this as in the past he's only used that terminology to announce his intention to go to the toilet, though he's never entirely clear about whether the 'captain' is the toilet bowl or his penis. Similarly people with actual big white telephones must just have to say "I'm just going to make a telephone call" to avoid confusion.

It'll be weird tonight without the pair of them snoring off to my left but I have formulated a plan to fend off loneliness for the next few evenings by spending a couple of hours after work in one of the several cinemas conveniently sited near the office and to which I've not been since before we moved and multiplied. First up was Scott Pilgrim etc., quite clearly indicating Edgar Wright's aceness but not quite entirely right everywhere, though very promising for whatever he does next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.