Moments

By togrrrl

A Year - Inner World

I hadn't realized but it has been exactly one year since I posted my first picture here. Not 365 pictures though. It's been exactly 13 months since I started taking photographs.

A year ago I started this because of the urging of my friend Bighill so we could keep in touch. Since then, this practice has taken on a life of its own.

A year ago I was scared to post my first picture. I'm shy, I've never been so public before. When I got comments on that first blip, I thought it was blip central staff whose job it was to greet new members. I still feel nervous posting a picture that is different or personal. I hope that people will like it. I try not to care.

A year ago I was using a point and shoot. 7 months ago I switched to a DSLR. I'm still only really comfortable with AV or TV priority. I know that if I set the speed to 1/250th of a second I have a better chance of getting my picture in focus. I know that I like shallow depth of field. I know that ISO 100 is better than ISO 800.

I've become even more enthralled with taking photographs. Most days I see new patterns of light, colour, tone and texture that make me excited and happy.

What I'm most surprised about is that taking pictures of the outside world is really a reflection of my inner world. The more I look outside, the more I see inside.

I still feel like I've got the L plates on. I hope I always will since that will mean I will keep learning, keep growing and stay open to new ideas and ways of seeing.

A year ago I was just starting. A year from now I hope that I am still exploring the beauty of the outside world, the expression of my inner world and finding the place where the two meet.

Thank you Bighill!!!!!

And thank you to all of you. I feel privileged to be part of this community, to see your images, read your worlds and to talk and share. People here are so kind, sensitive, talented and brilliant! I wish I had more time to comment though! Like now, it's 1:30 and I have to get up in 5 hours for work. Arrghhhh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.