Unknown dragonfly

Does anyone know what dragonfly this is? If I were naming it I would call it the big-blue-eyed dragonfly for obvious reasons. That is definitely not its scientific name, nor even its common name. So if anyone knows its official name please tell me. I tried looking it up online, without any success. And if you know of a good dragonfly identification website, I would be grateful if you would tell me its address.

I was at the Holden Arboretum again today, and I saw very few butterflies in the butterfly garden or anywhere else. I think I saw more dragonflies than butterflies. I did come across several monarch butterflies that apparently didn't get the message that the migration had begun the other day. They were still hanging out here in northeastern Ohio. I'm a little worried about their future to tell you the truth. It's going to turn cold and rainy in a few weeks...not good butterfly weather.

That's it for tonight, friends. I'm running out of time and energy, and I still have to update my blog, so goodnight to all.

UPDATE: Our neighbor's father who crashed his car into our tree last week is still in the hospital. Apparently the air bag wasn't too kind to him and he may have spinal injuries as a result. They don't seem to know if the accident was caused by a stroke or heart attack or something else. It's very sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.