Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Tough Ellis

As you may have seen, Martine and I had our wedding anniversary last Tuesday. Yesterday, Jannie (Martine's sister) and Raymond had their first wedding anniversary. I don't actually know if this was the reason for it, but my in-laws took all of us out to dinner. We went to Shufu State, a wok restaurant in Groningen.

The great thing about this restaurant is that it is very child friendly and we could enjoy food and conversation while the girls were playing. When it was almost time to go home, I started "rounding up" the girls and I found them playing near the exit. I took this shot of Ellis and because she didn't want to go back to our table I carried her. That's when it happened... Apparently someone spilled some food and a staff member mopped it up. The floor was soaking wet but I didn't see it. I slipped and couldn't prevent Ellis from hitting her head while I fell on my shoulder.

What really annoyed me is that no one offered any help. Nor did any waiter or waitress check how we were doing when we had returned to our seat. Ellis was crying her lungs out but fortunately I was able to comfort her quickly. When we left, Ellis was able to walk out herself without any trouble and she was all happy again so it looks like she is OK. My shoulder still hurts somewhat but it already feels a lot better.

This unfortunate event aside, I had a great weekend and I hope so did you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.