Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Martin Luther King County Courthouse

2nd day of jury duty. As I was selected for a trial today, I'm going to blip this beautiful building where I will spend the week (and no more I certainly hope!) Listed in the National Register of Historic places, this is a beautiful building first completed in 1916. It was added to in 1931 (to 11 stories) and "modernized" in the 60's, and later around 2000 rehabilitated to improve seisimic stability and rectify modern design changes. At that time artist Douglas Cooper was selected to add murals to the interior of the renovated lobby - these are fantastic and I will try to get a photo with something other than the iphone tomorrow. Also the marble floors were recreated by artist Linda Beaumont with the original layout, but inspired by the county's 1986 decision to to rename King county after the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr and to honor his contribution to justice.... I guess I'm going to have to blip that too....and there are so many other wonderful sights to blip on my lunch hours.! I feel like I'm on a city vacation (no kids!) - altho the trial itself I'm afraid is pretty boring. The building in the background is the Columbia Center, at 76 stories, the tallest building West of the Mississippi when it was built in 1985. Now it's the 4th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.