Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

"Truth Crushed To The Earth Will Rise again

is one of the Martin Luther King quotes chosen by artist Linda Beaumont to feature in the floor design of the courthouse. This is jury duty day #3. I probably walked over this center image 2-3 times before it hit me that that was the Lincoln memorial in Washington D. C. and those were all people!! The Civil Rights March on Washington in 1963. It sort of appears and fades from focus as you walk. The artist explains her thinking "the photograph records a passionate time in our history, and like a worn image on an old coin, it holds the essence of that time. The image, etched in many of our minds, is now etched in stone, a circle, a soft focus lens into our collective memories." I think it is very beautiful and goes with the black and white murals on the walls. I'm too tired to make a link to these but will try tomorrow. Our trial is over but for the deliberations tomorrow so I need to get some sleep so I can think about the verdict and make a decision "beyond a reasonable doubt."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.