Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Seed Pod

I took several interesting if not remarkable shots today and have had a tough time on deciding which one to post.

The chief arbiter was called in but I am afraid on this occasion I just could not agree with her choice of a magnolia seed pod. It was interesting but less remarkable than the others in my opinion and had little photographic merit. It would have looked good in a school textbook but surely I should be aiming for something better than that.

I could have gone for another picket fence and shadow picture but having already posted one such shot this week I was reluctant to inflict another one on you all.

Eventually, after much deliberation I went for this shot of a seed pod, I think from a London Plane or American Sycamore and one that had dropped from the tree before it had chance to grow its furry covering. Of course, it could be something completely different that doesn't grow a furry covering. You know me and American trees -- my knowledge is pretty limited.

Now British trees are a whole different ball game but then I did have 40 plus years to develop a degree of familiarity.

I think the presence of the snail shell adds a little more interest and the seed pod, particularly against the dark background, puts me in mind of an asteroid floating in space.

Okay, it's just a seed pod lying on the ground. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.