Rubble

The weird thing about this is I don't remember what the building was pre-earthquake.

I'm posting this a day late and feel a little differently about it than I did yesterday or Friday. During last evening we had a trilogy of 3 shakes within 15mins, all of them within 5km's of the city centre. One was literally centred a hop, skip and a jump away from my home.

No damage but they were loud, shallow and too close for comfort. A friend was with me and we decided the best thing to do was watch a DVD. So yesterday's blip was put on hold until today.

I figured out yesterday I'd reached a point where I needed to document what had happened. What you see here is more the exception than the rule, most of the city looks ok but you come across scenes like this. Photographing the aftermath is also part of my processing the earthquake and connecting with the city I live in.

Last evening dented things but I'm ok. I know there is all part of the earth's crust settling into a new configuration. The experience part of it sometimes leaves us all a little shaky.

Life goes on and we'll all settle down again. I'm not an expert but from the bit I do know I'd expect we'll have aftershocks for at least another month +.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.