My Angle

By myangle

Melbourne Cup Day

Canon Powershot A550

Well, the Melbourne Cup has been run and won, and as usual I have done my dough. Or should I say done my DOH! My once a year flutter on the horses almost always leaves me lighter in the hip pocket. I picked a horse called Blue Monday for no other reason than I was in a bad mood yesterday. Jo picked On a Jeune which seems to have been running the cup for years now. Both of us lost. Most Australians go out for a punt on the first Tuesday in November, and most, like me, lose. The bookmakers are the only ones that win.

Background image is the Courier Mail Cup lift out.

The upside was that Jo's boss had a small Melbourne Cup lunch. I popped in on my way to work, watched the race, had some nibbles and sneaked in a quarter of a glass of champagne. Nice.

On a horsey theme:
Pumps
Life of Bri
Calico

********************************************************************

The other thing I did today was finally went live with the website I have been working on for months. I don't claim to be a web designer but I was asked and I have the software so I built it as I do occasionally for friends. I am amazed when I load a new site for the first time how many mistakes I see which I missed before uploading. No matter how much I check I always miss something. Now I have to trawl through it page by page and fix up little things. I remember now why I didn't choose web design as a career path.

What I didn't do today is ride my bike. It rained overnight and the roads were wet this morning. Until I change the tyres it isn't safe to ride in the wet. I am keen to see if it rides without the motor dying on me so I might start it up tomorrow and have a go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.