TeeJay

By TeeJay

Wood Pile Art

I went on a trip to Westport today with Kiwilizzie. Between us I hate to think how many photos we took and it was hard narrowing my blip choices down. I vascilated between a nosey weka, a cheeky seagull, a sunbathing seal, a number of different shots of the wonderful scenery and this incredible woodpile.

The wood pile won in the end for one reason. I can return and very likely take photos similar to the others I took, but once the creator has burnt their firewood this wonderful art will disappear. It is incredible the work and planning that the artist has put into stacking their winter wood. They've used rounds placed carefully in a stack of split wood.

I noticed this when I glanced over my shoulder as we drove in to Westport and made Kiwilizzie stop on our way back out so that I could capture it. Unfortunately the rain was phenomenal at the time, as you can see in this shot (note the lines of rain particularly noticeable on the darker wood), so I literally sat in the passenger seat and shot this - the lazy fine weather photographer way to do things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.