My Year in Pictures

By jenny

My boys

Backblipped on 1st October

What a glorious day!

The sun was shining from the off so we got up and out quite early - for us!

Headed off to Mullion Cove for a walk down to Lizard and back. I'd thought it'd be about 9 miles round trip but it was more like 12 - oops!

But amazing cliff walk down with fabulous views that had Bill on the lookout loads!

The sun was hot and the sky was blue so the ups and downs of the Cornish coastal paths certainly worked up a thirst and a hunger!

Though just as we hit the beautiful Kynance Cove, I had a bit of a fall into some gorse.

Thought there must have been berries on the bushes as my trousers were covered in red, but on closer inspection we realised I'd been punctured by lots of thorns. The blood and the length of the thorns we could pull out were seriously impressive!

However we hadn't even reached the half way pasty stop point of Anne's at Lizard, so I had to struggle (!) on.

Pasty was fab and invigorated us for our return journey which was a lot less eventful, thought we did met lots of cows - including Highland ones - you'd be seriously impressed as I managed to walk by them - and an RAF helicopter that was obviously on some training exercise, as it must have landed and taken off a couple of dozen times in quick succession - and was incredibly noisy to boot!

Tired, hot and thirsty when we got back to the car - so up to Mullion Cove Hotel for a wee drink on the cliff top watching the evening sun - bliss.

However I loved this almost silhouette of James and Bill at Kynance Cove - my boys together in a beautiful location on a stunning day - how could you not love them both - it summed the whole wonderful day for me.

PS. The sunburn was quite impressive - 6 hours in the hot sun with no cream not a good combo
PPS. Whilst I've got the thorns out of my hands my left leg is a mess! - 40 puncture sites at the last count and I'm not sure how many thorns are still in there :-(
PPPS. Bill is shattered!


Holiday Back Blips:
Day One - James
Day Two - Family Portrait
Day Three - Cheeky Bill
Day Four - Nessie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.