Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Portal and Doorway, Burrell Collection, Glasgow

I have always marvelled at this early 16th century sandstone Portal and Doorway which comes from Hornby Castle in Yorkshire. It has been integrated into the Burrell building, and provides a dramatic internal entrance to the Burrell Collection. It shows the heraldry of Lord Conyers who died in 1524.

I had a quick visit here this afternoon, to buy some quality Scottish gifts from the shop. I am off on my travels again tomorrow. More to follow about that.

Last week I read this quotation on the daily tear off calendar on my desk :
"As you grow older, you'll find the only things you regret are the things you didn't do". This struck me as rather appropriate at the moment. Life is very busy, but I didn't want to have regrets. I have been considering for several months about signing up for the 10 week Open University Digital Photography Course. I decided to go for it, so began yesterday. I will be away for most of Week One, but have managed to read through a fair bit of the online tutorial, and know what images I have to capture this week while I am away. I have already spotted one other Blipper who has signed up. If I had put off the decision, it would have meant waiting for a whole year. The next course starts in May and runs into the summer period when we are always away on holiday. Obviously planned with the English and not the Scottish holiday season in mind. Ho hum....

And I can hear some of you ask why my Blip isn't with my fabby new lens. Answers - it was pouring with rain, I need to get used to it and the UV filter hasn't arrived yet. The lens is very near the edge of the casing and definately needs some protection.

Off to pack.

SF

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.