Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Without Violas

Yet another step on the road to recovery and rebuilding of my life!

I spent the weekend travelling to Doncaster (my old home town) to play in a Vivaldi concert with an orchestra I used to play in regularly. The director of the orchestra is a very good friend of mine (my first "grown-up" boyfriend, and we've remained friends ever since) and also taught me A-level music.

After a pleasant and easy drive up the M1 I stopped off at my Mum's to drop off my stuff and have tea (my Dad also came over to say hello) then went to the pre-concert rehearsal, which ended with a piece that didn't include violas - which is how I was able to take this photo. The concert went very well and afterwards quite a lot of us went out for a meal. It was a rather late night, but well worth it!

I find it rather amazing that on a Saturday night in Doncaster, surrounded by all the hubbub and craziness of nightclubs, pubs and so on, there is, in a smallish church, an orchestra of about 25 people and an audience of about 100 sitting, enjoying Vivaldi's music, directed from the harpsichord! It felt a bit like being in some sort of time capsule, but we all enjoyed it so much!

My friend is also organist at this Church, which is where the Wonderspouse and I got married, and he played the organ for our wedding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.