Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Broken Hammock!

Er, hi there human mum, this is, er, a bit bad, we know, but we've, er, broken our hammock. You see, we do LOVE our hammock so, but, er, we're rodents, and we just can't help nibbling things, and we nibbled through one of the cords attaching our hammock to our cage and now we can't lie in it any more. We're very sorry, honest. And we're very cute. Oh, and now you're here, could you possibly pass us a yogurt drop please? Thanks everso!

Hello boys!!! What HAVE you been up to? You've obviously been partying in your cage all night because it's TRASHED!!!! Fortunately for you, I love you so much and I think you're so cute that I'll sort it all out for you - it's cage cleaning day today anyway, so it'll all be beautiful for you later on. Even MORE fortunately, I'm descended from 5 generations of needlewomen, so I can MEND your hammock for you, and in the meantime you can lie around in your spare hammock! OK? Oh, and yes, you CAN have a yogurt drop, but just one each so you don't get too fat!

Finally, a day when I didn't have to sit in a classroom and learn stuff! This morning I sorted out the debris on my desk, then did a whole load of filing of notes taken during classes, handouts and so on. Then I went through the jobs list and sorted out the ones that REALLY needed doing today, then decided there were too many of those, so trimmed it again, then decided that the only thing I actually HAD to do was clean the rat cage - they're my top priority!

So, the cage is now cleaned, and I'm now nearly caught up on blips - two items done from the list of ten. The bed is stripped and will be remade soon, and the washing machine is busy doing its magic with dirty clothes! This evening I may even get some of my CELTA homework done and do a few maths questions in preparation for the exam, which seems to be hurtling towards me at the speed of light now!

One of the things I've noticed since starting college is that if I'm tired at the weekends, leaving a few jobs over until Monday isn't an option. Getting myself back to "work" isn't just a matter of not having the time to do things during the week, but also means that I have extra things to do at the weekends. I'm also taking on as much as I can at home to help the Wonderspouse who is less well than I am at the moment and needs as much extra support as I can give him!

Busy times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.