Sway

These boys are glaziers working on replacing broken windows on the floors above level 2 in the Central Library. They're roped together, suspended in this heavy cage/platform thing from a crane. Despite it being large and heavy they were swaying in the lively nor'easterly today.

They have their work cut out because each aftershock breaks more windows. I guess they have to repair windows for safety (so glass doesn't fall out in subsequent shakes) and for weather proofing). Maybe the shakes sort out the weakened panes and glass too.

Speaking of swaying we did a fair bit of that last night. The 'light entertainment' kicked in around 10.20pm with the 10th largest quake we've had. I was in bed but my light was still on. My ceilings are high as they follow the roof line. My main light hangs from a point high up. I couldn't help but notice it built up a decent arching swing. So much for not liking quakes in the dark. Watching them in action isn't a whole lot better. This was a decent rumble and there was one point where I gripped the bed.

Apparently we've had more than 1400 shocks now (not that we feel all of them).

The show continued 10 minutes later with another rattler. Can't say I definitely noticed it. I think my place was still swaying from the bigger 'cousin'. It seemed to go on for ages.

The fun continued just after my alarm went off with an early morning rattler. Fortunately I was still in bed. If I'm going to be upstairs when they hit I'd rather be in bed.

It wasn't fun but it could have been a lot worse. Overall the trend is less aftershocks and smaller magnitudes but we can still get larger ones capable of causing damage. We were reminded of that last night. We might have several more months of where aftershocks can occur.

Today was sunny, I biked to work, enjoyed my colleagues wit, enthusiasm and expertise and won a round of 'guess-the-size-of-the-aftershock'. It makes a difference.

There can only be this song today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.