Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

What might the allottment yield today?

I was out in the grey part of the morning today and at home working and looking out at brilliant blue skies for the rest of the day, so really felt that I'd missed out.

I needed to take my car in for its service and MOT this morning and then walk home, which is probably just over a mile and downhill all the way. This enabled me to call in on the allottment as I passed by. This is our first year as allottment holders, though I've been a gardener since I was a child. We took on a very badly overgrown patch of land (half a full allottment size) and we feel we've made much better progress than expected. The courgettes have continued to produce long after they normally finish at home and I managed to pick two reasonable sized fruits - though there will not be too many more as the weather has definitely become Autumnal. We've eaten our first cabbage this evening, which was delicious, not like the stuff that comes from the supermarket and we've also been enjoying the black Kale - although that does seem to come with caterpillars as an hors d'oeuvre. There by lies an expensive tale - the vegetable cage was designed to keep the caterpillars out but all that seems to have happened is that it is keeping the caterpillars in! The netting was very late arriving because the supplier had run out of stock - so I'm not sure whether the eggs were laid before the net went on or whether the butterflies have been able to lay eggs on those leaves that are touching the netting. Regardless of the reason they are definitley in there chewing away like mad and the net makes it even harder to get in to track them down! We hope for better luck next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.