secret garden

By freespiral

West Cork beauty

Today I headed for Cork with the intention of buying winter boots. Not as straight-forward as it sounds. I wear sandals and crocs (well, I like them) from mid April until as long as possible in October then leap into boots - fascinating isn't it!! Last year I was due for new winter boots but couldn't find any so I polished up my old ones and put up with the occasional wet feet. This will not be an option this year.

It was blowing a gale in Cork and drizzling and the heating seemed to be on in all the shops and the boots were mostly pretty ghastly - no, I do not want boots with stiletto heels; no I do not want boots with massive wedge heels; no I do no want furry boots; now I do not want knitted boots; no I do not want sparkly boots. What I do want are not too ferocious Dr Martens. I saw the perfect ones in August but refrained from buying them as I was still skipping around in crocs (like today). Of course, when I arrived in the appropriate shop - no boots. (Are you bored yet??) Eventually I bought some that will do, so I have something to wear on my feet that won't cause the children consternation. Oh yes, they notice everything. Rant nearly finished - final bit coming up ... there were also Christmas decorations well in evidence, mingling with the Halloween nonsense. Think I'm getting old. The only bright spot was I have discovered you can get a Halloween version of Creme eggs - Scream eggs!!! Divine!

Now the blip - this very fine sculpture can be spotted outside an art gallery in Innishannon. If you look closely you will see that she's wearing a West Cork essential - wellies!! There is an interesting addition to this - the model is apparently one of the parents at school. This was moulded (I think that was the technique!) when she was 16!! I knew when I had a become a West Cork woman when I was to be seen sporting my nightie, a cardigan, an old pair of leggings and a pair of wellies - at 2pm!! Himself was so horrified he took a photo as evidence - no, you're not seeing it.

Have a good weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.