twenty minutes

Upon returning from my riverside lunch-walk this afternoon I discovered to my (admittedly extremely slight) dismay that I was five minutes late. I discovered this to be because my wrist-watch was some twenty minutes behind the time shown on the clocking-in machine. After walking along an almost-deserted riverbank in moody autumnsome light it might have been tempting to consider the possibility of adbduction but unfortunately my portable telephone displayed the correct time. Though it solves the mystery of the lateness it doesn't explain why my watch was slow. The scenario with the greatest likelihood is that the act of shoving my watch between two sofa cushions overnight at the weekend (it was easier than switching off the watch alarm) also caused the wee twisty knob time-altering thing to be temporarily dislodged.

Unless that's exactly what they want me to think...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.