Displacement activities

By Detritus

Smokin'

I used to go to Snetterton with my dad when I was young - as a five year old he'd take me on the back of his motorbike to see the bike racing.

My son hasn't taken up this interest, but did want to go today to see drifting and modified cars. This is a Nissan Silvia, a type of car he particularly likes (but not necessarily in pink) drifting round Coram curve. This was the eventual winner.

Snetterton was a second world war (American) bomber base housing B17s before becoming a race track. In the sixties the long track closed (now a Sunday market) and the remaining shorter track continued on, not at the forefront, but still an active race track. Last month they announced plans for a major redevelopment. I have mixed feelings, as the corner I used to work at will be removed, but as a few years ago, there were rumours of the track closing to be developed for housing, if this development means it will remain, I can only welcome it.

This track, although I rarely visit now, remains a special place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.