The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ribblehead Viaduct

A beautiful Autumn day from dawn to dusk in Cumbria and North Yorkshire. I was up before dawn to check my moth trap (5 species including the gorgeous Feathered Ranunculus) and then out to take some pictures of the rising sun.

Later in the morning I met up with Dr T, my old friend from university. A late breakfast in Ingleton, then we went up into Chapel-le-Dale to explore the limestone pavements on the flanks of Ingleborough, and my particular favourite Scar Close. We did a loop via the Station Inn in Horton-in-Ribblesdale, walking under the towering Ribblehead Viaduct and back to where the cars were parked. This viaduct which carries the Settle to Carlisle line is still active. According to Dr T this was the last of the lines to have been built purely with manual labour, and Ribblehead was constructed by an encampment of several thousand navvies, many of whom perished from disease and accidents.

Back in Ingleton, we had a look at the disused viaduct that dominates the lower part of the village, the line over this has been closed now for decades. I promised Dr T that I would blip this view, and initially I did (apologies to anyone who saw its brief appearance). However, I changed my mind and went for the grandeur of Ribblehead. Dr T, you can see the Ingleton viaduct here.

It was a difficult choice bewteen the two viaducts and yet another Sandside sunset. I took far too many photos today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.